September 13, 2007

Revisiting GTD in the library

Posted in Geeky Stuff, Getting Things Done, GTD, Web 2.0 / Medical Library 2.0 at 1:04 pm by Alexia

A little over a year ago I wrote a post on Getting Things Done in the Library.  One of the things I like most about this “system” is that it is geared towards helping you manage tasks and not time.  I believe this is a major factor in my success of using GTD as a librarian.  Even if one could manage time our jobs are full of too many interruptions.  The best we can hope for is to manage what we have to do in such a way that we can get it done between reference questions.

The tool that has worked the best for me in using GTD has been AirSet.  This Web 2.0 application offers a calendar, lists, files, contacts and links.  You can use it alone or for groups.  I use my calendar for my “hard landscape” tasks – meetings, appointments, etc. – that have a definite time.  I use the list function for keeping track of my tasks and projects.  Between those two functions I am able to keep track of my projects and tasks and that is half the battle.

I would be very interested to know if other librarians are using GTD and if so, how.

Links:

Leave a Reply

