September 7, 2006

On being involved

Posted in Professional Development at 9:27 am by Alexia

Today I run my first general business meeting as MDMLG president.  In addition, I am a member of a panel presenting at the program portion of the business meeting.  The program is titled Stay Aware with Current Technology Pearls: Wikis, Blogs, RSS and Podcasting and should be very interesting.  I certainly hope so, I’d hate to fall flat on my face during my first presentation in many years.

This meeting got me thinking about the discussion a couple of weeks ago on the HLS listserv regarding MLA.  The MLA conference is great and worth attending if you can, but it’s not the only place to get programming and professional development.  Your state and local associations can offer a wealth of opportunities.  State and local associations are also a great place to start becoming professionally involved.

I’m going to put on my Hospital Library Section Professional Development Committee member hat for a moment and direct you to the Professional Development Committee’s web page.  Not only does it contain links to conferences, but also distance learning opportunities, professional tools, and links to national, state and local professional associations.  The page will go through some heavy updating soon, but is still a great resource as is.

Links:

Leave a Reply

