August 10, 2006

Tip – add RSS feeds to your Electronic Journal list

Posted in Tips & Tricks, Web 2.0 / Medical Library 2.0 at 4:29 pm by Alexia

One of my major goals this year is to create and provide a comprehensive system of pushing RSS feeds out to our physicians, residents and other hospital staff.  My first step is to integrate url’s of RSS feeds for the toc of the journals on our EBSCO AtoZ list.  This has actually been an easier process than I thought though it is time consuming.  All I really have done is added the RSS feed as a custom link on the journal record in EBSCO AtoZ.  If there is interest, I will post step-by-step instructions.

Here is an example of what our patrons see:

Acta oto-laryngologica
    Print Collection  Your Access: 1990 to present 
The Helen L. DeRoy Medical Library at Providence Hospital holds the print version of this title  
    Ingenta Select  1998 to present  
Standard access is available via IP Address through any computer connected to the hospital network.  
    RSS Feed

ISSN: 0001-6489
Publisher: T & F Informa UK Limited
Subject: Medicine and Health Sciences — Otolaryngology

My next step will be to create an RSS page explaining RSS, giving links to readers, and offering links to medically related RSS directories.  At some point I would like to start pushing topically-related, pre-bundled RSS feeds as David Rothman has begun doing at this institution.  The possibilites are endless, my problem is overcoming the desire to offer everything at once.How are you using RSS feeds in your library?

6 Comments »

  1. Greg Bodin said,

    Hi Alexa – I would love to see the step-by-step instructions for setting up the feed in A-Z, if you have time to post. Thanks! Greg

  2. Michael Porter said,

    Greetings Alexa,

    I am new to your blog and came across this posting. I had this very discussion of our Manager of Electronic Resources several weeks ago. I am looking to integrate/push our journal listings into our WebCT courses.

    If possible, could you provide me with your step-by-step instructions for setting up RSS feeds in the A-Z list.

    Thanks

  3. It is because those links require login and authentication before using, and google doesn’t do that

  4. trojan zbot said,

    Great weblog here! Also your web site quite a bit up fast!
    What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate
    link to your host? I want my web site loaded up as fast as yours
    lol

  5. Hello There. I discovered your weblog using msn. This is an
    extremely neatly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  6. Teresita said,

    Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Bless you


Leave a Reply

