August 8, 2006

Why another Medical Library blog?

Posted in Blog Announcements at 1:31 pm by Alexia

I have been a blogger for several years, though until recently only on a personal level.  There are a great many general library blogs out there, but only a few focusing on Medical Libraries and Librarianship.  They are excellent blogs, but there is power in numbers and the more of us who use our voice the better off our profession is.  So, that is why another Medical Library blog.

So, what will you get in this blog?  General discussions on library and medical library issues, announcements (products, continuing education opportunities, etc.) will garner most of the attention.  I also plan to write on work productivity issues and other general issues that could pertain to our profession even if not directly.

A little about me:

I have been a librarian for 16 years, 12 of which I have spent in the medical (hospital) librarian vein.  I have a bachelors in business administration and MLS.  I am a senior AHIP member and active (too active perhaps) in many professional organizations.  I am currently the president of the Metropolitan Detroit Medical Library Group.  Personally, I am a single mom of a wonderful boy and I love my career.

Enough about me.  Let’s get this party started!

Links:

5 Comments »

  1. Welcome and congratulations, Alexia! I can’t wait to start reading your blog.

    Remember to post a link to your feed on your sidebar: https://medicallibrarianmaven.wordpress.com/feed

  2. […] Also: I love the title she chose for her first post. It reminds me of something… […]

  3. rachel said,

    Welcome, Alexia!

  4. Jan said,

    Great Job Alexia! I am truly impressed.

  5. […] Back when I introduced myself and this blog I mentioned that one of the areas I planned to blog on was work productivity issues.  So, here’s my take on time management in the library – you can’t. […]


Leave a Reply

