December 5, 2006

Google Scholar to the rescue?!

Posted in Tips & Tricks at 11:18 am by Alexia

First off – yes, I am still alive.  Work got crazy and there were a couple of weeks thrown in where a sinus infection had me down for the count.  I’m back and ready to blog.

So, I needed to verify a citation from ACTA Chirurgica Scandinavica from 1944 this morning.  Old MEDLINE only goes back to 1950 and we didn’t have Index Medicus back to 1944.  So, I ran a quick search on Google Scholar and was successful.  I’ve run into other situations where Google Scholar has come to the rescue.  A couple of weeks ago a woman handed me a list of “citations” (I use the term loosely) that consisted of author surnames and dates.  Not having a clue if these citations were medical in nature or not I started searching Google Scholar and obtained all but three of the citations.

So, what is the moral of the story?  I still am not a big fan of Google but can appreciate when using their tools can be helpful.

Links: